Today after a three hour, or so, nap I decided to watch “Say Anything” the iconic 80s movie starring John Cusack. Such a great movie. The writing in that movie is really incredible and I wanted to write down some of my favorite lines.

Lloyd’s response to what he wants to do for a career. Brilliant.

“I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that.”

Lloyd in his car taping his voice about how he’s going to get over Diane.

“The rain on my car is a baptism, the new me, Ice Man, Power Lloyd, my assault on the world begins now.”

Lloyd hanging out with “real guys” after hanging out with girls his whole life.

“I got a question. If you guys know so much about women, how come you’re here at like the Gas ‘n’ Sip on a Saturday night completely alone drinking beers with no women anywhere?”

Their response

“By choice, man.”

Corey talking to Lloyd after he says he’s a guy with pride.

“No. The world is full of guys. Be a man, don’t be a guy.”

Lloyd’s message of Diane’s answering machine after she breaks up with him.

“Maybe I didn’t really know you. Maybe you were just a mirage. Maybe the world is full of food and sex and spectacle and we’re all just hurling towards an apocalypse, in which case it’s not your fault. I’m been thinking about all these things and… you’re probably standing there monitoring. And one more thing – about the letter. Nuke it. Flame it. Destroy it. – It hurts me to know it’s out there. Later.”

Diane’s question and Lloyd’s response at the end of the movie.

“Nobody thinks we will work do they?”

“No, you just described every great success story.”

