I thought I would take this opportunity to express my feelings about high school musical. I know that a lot of people don’t like the movies and especially detest the products and the franchise in general. I would like to say that I LOVE high school musical and I will no longer pretend that I don’t. There are legitimate reasons why too so stick around for a minute.

#1 No matter what you think about High School Musical you need to acknowledge that it has exposed an entire generation of young people to musical theater and given them an appreciating for it.

#2 There is no disputing this. High School Musical has legitimate dance numbers. This stuff isn’t crap, Kenny Ortega (the choreographer) is incredibly well known in the dance industry and he’s chreographed so many things I can’t list them all but here are some. He choreographed Dirty Dancing and many awarding winning music videos like Madonna’s “Material Girl.” He also choreographed Michael Jackson’s “This is It” tour. He’s very skilled and so are the dancers.

#3 Zac Efron may not be a George Clooney but he doesn’t deserve the reputation that he gets from these movies. He does a good job, the writing is very cliche and I think he does a good job with it.

#4 The music is considerably better than a lot of stuff that’s out there today on the top 40 charts. I think the lyrics are good and they do a good job of being appropriate and clever with what they have to work with. Although I’m pretty impartial to teeny-bopper music.

#5 There is impeccable staging in the third movie. They do a whole song that has a taxi that bends up and turns into a dressing room and a rotating set that has people walking into different rooms while it spins. I know there’s “movie magic” and stuff but it’s still pretty cool.

#6 It’s incredibly cliche and I’m ok with that.

Unfortunately there are a few things I detest about the movie. Namely Ashley Tisdale and Vanessa Hudgens. Ashley Tisdale is one of the worst actresses of our time. She take a quick breath before every single line!! That drives me up a tree. Vanessa Hudgens isn’t quite as bad but she is still not at a very high calaber.

To tell you the truth these bad things are very unimportant in the grand scheme of the movie. It’s got amazing choreography and good music with good lyrics and passable acting. The main reason I really appreciate it is because it exposes younger kids to musicals. For these reasons I don’t think High School Musical deserves the crap it gets and I refuse to hide my love any longer.

