Schadenfreude is probably one the most reassuring concepts to me although it deffinately shouldn’t be. If you don’t know what it is “schadenfreude” is a German word which means happiness at the misfortune of others. And yes I learned what it was and what it meant from Avenue Q (an inappropriate version of Sesame Street currently off-broadway). Anyways the idea is that seeing someone in the rain makes you feel comfier yourself.

Now it would make sense for me to be reassured by the fact that other people are worse off than me, but that’s not the part that reassures me. The part that reassures me is that when things go wrong for me I feel good knowing that I’m fufilling my role in society and possibly making other people feel better. I’ve gotten in the habit of listening to the song “Schadenfreude” from Avenue Q when I’ve had a bad day or a bad experience.

So today I was singing it in my head throughout all of school because of a rough morning I had that I thought I’d share with you so that you could feel better about your morning! Today was the first mock trial trial that I’ve ever been a part of. Last night I bought new pants a new shirt to look extra fancy and I was planning to wear a specific pair of heels to the trial.  When I woke up this morning I got dressed and put on a different pair of heels because at the time I couldn’t find the other pair and I figured I’d just look later. In any case the pants were too long and thankfully my mom was able to quickly hem them (incredibly well I must say). Then comes the real trouble, the stupid heels. I must have spent half an hour looking for them because I didn’t want to go in open toed shoes and I NEVER FOUND THEM. Then after I had officially given up I still had to organize my stuff, eat breakfast, make lunch, and make food for myself to eat after the trial (since recently I figured out I probably have a gluten intolerance). That took a good 20 minutes which leaves me late for school. I ran to the car with my sister and we starting driving, occasionally going a few miles faster than we probably should have and making it to the school parking lot by 7:30. I told my sister to go in while I looked for a spot and low and behold EVERY SINGLE SPOT was occupied so I had to park on the street and then run into school from far away with open toed high heels on. Luckily I got a “freebie” for being late so I don’t have any detention. So when I look back on it I realize it was a really sucky moring, but I think because I was singing that song in my head I didn’t consciously realize that at any point in the day until I started reflecting on it now. Well I hope this puts your morning in prospective. =)

