If you are unaware I am currently away for February vacation in Florida, and more specifically Walt Disney World (the happiest place on earth). So far this week I’ve been reading as much as I can on buses and in lines for some rides, before bed, in the morning etc etc. In any case, I’m currently finished with two and a half books. I LOVE to read and I never have enough time to do it, especially with history readings every week so I’m really happy that for some reason during this vacation I did all my history reading ahead of time. These are the books that I’ve finished/almost-finished and what I thought.

Up in the Air

Yes! It was a book shortly before it became a movie. The book was quite different and I was really okay with it. I liked the book and the movie for different reasons but I think the movie people did a good job of making sure that the characters had very similar personalities. It was a very introspective book and wasn’t so much about the action as it was about corporate America. I liked it although it did feel long at some points. The characters all had interesting quirks and the first few chapters are in the second person which is really cool. So I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.

Fairest of them all

Yes, I picked up a pre-teen Disney book while I was here about Snow White’s wicked queen and how she got to be that way. It was kind of like a mix between Wicked (the book) and Twilight. I really liked it. It was a quick read but the material was dark and very interesting. I thought the author did a great job especially for her first book, although I’m not quite sure what age group it’s for. It seems like 9th grade reading? But with really dark material? And vocab that would be tricky for middle schoolers…so I’m not sure. But it was really good. So 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Catcher in the Rye

Working on it. I’ll get back to you. I like it so far though!

