I would say that makeup is probably one of the worst aspects of society today. So many people wear it and don’t see any problem with it, and I guess there really isn’t, but I’d like to think that people are comfortable enough being vulnerable that they don’t need it. Makeup really is a mask, it’s like walking around displaying yourself as something that your not. It’s no better than lying.

Isn’t it sad when you think about how many people smear on eye shadow every morning or draw dark circles around their eyes? We are who we are and if you’re that adament about change, the way to go about it has nothing to do with wearing a mask. I won’t say that I have never worn makeup before…because I did for the first two years of high school, but I’m beginning to become wary of it. Are we that insecure as a gender? Do we feel good about constantly fooling the people around us?

Of course I realize that there is litte real harm in wearing makeup, but I just don’t see a reason for it.

I am who I am, wrinkles, dark spots, freckles and all. Every defect is an important part of me and I can’t imagine covering myself up. I don’t feel like I need to shield myself from the world because I think that honesty is important. I don’t wear makeup by my own conscious decision and I know that as I get older I won’t be afraid of wrinkles and scars because it will allow me to be that much more truthful to the people around me from the moment I meet them. Your apperance is the first thing that the people around you notice, and I don’t want to lie about mine.

