So, as I’m watching the red carpet and chatting with family about potential winners I thought I would share my predictions as well as those nominees who I would like to win.

Best Picture

Nominees: Avatar, The Blind Side, District 9, An Education, The Hurt Locker, Inglorius Bastards, Precious, A Serious Man, Up, Up in the Air

Prediction: Avatar

I think that Avatar is going to win this catagory by a long shot. The special effects and the shear time spent and new technology used to create this film is incredible. The fact that the plot and the story are not lost to the special effects is, in and of itself, a great feat. The acting is great, great directing, good music, amazing effects, and it’s in 3D which is always a plus. I don’t think there’s a chance that they won’t win.

Who I’d like to win: Up or Up in the Air

I think that Up deserves to win because of how brilliant Pixar is. How many children’s movies touch you like Up? I don’t know many people who didn’t cry when they first saw that movie. At the same time they manage to incorporate a great message and clever humor (not stupid humor like so many movies these days). The animation is beautiful and the characters are incredibly well developed. You really care about what happens to them and that’s what a movie should do right?

Up in the Air should win for cinematography as well as acting and the screenplay. I guess that you could argue that it should simply win those catagories and not “best picture”, but I really think it’s worthy of best picture too. The screenplay is especially well done and how can you not appreciate a movie that is so incredibly honest?

Actress in a Leading Role

Nominees: Sandra Bullock, Meryl Streep, Carey Mulligan, Gabrielle Sidabay, Helen Mirren

Prediction: Sandra Bullock

To be completely honest I haven’t seen The Blind Side, but purely because of reviews and previous award shows I have a feeling she’ll win.

Who I’d like to win: Meryl Streep

I know, she’s won nearly a billion awards, but she did such an amazing job of personifying one of the greatest characters in history. She did it in a way that didn’t make Julia Child a charicature, but she really made her into a real person that you could laugh with and sympathize with. Meryl is brilliant, all the time, so she should win awards all the time…It only makes sense. I won’t be upset if Sandra Bullock wins though because she is a really great actress too.

Actress in a Supporting Role

Nominees: Vera Farmiga, Monique, Anna Kendrick, Penelope Cruz, Maggie Gylenhol

Prediction: Monique

I haven’t seen Precious, but I have no doubt that Monique will win. She’s won EVERY award show thus far for this catagory.

Who I’d like to win: Anna Kendrick

I really really really want Anna Kendrick to win. She was so incredible in Up in the Air. She has deffinitely graduated from Twilight and she was nominated for a Tony when she was eight! How crazy is that? Anyways, that doesn’t have anything to do with Up in the Air. In Up in the Air she played a very believable and realistic character. She did a particularly great job of breaking down and you cared about her as the movie went on. Maybe I identified with her too much because she’s so idealistic and as the story unfolds she realizes how naive she is. Perhaps I’m biased, but I still really want her to win.

Music (Original Score)

Nominees: Up, Sherlock Holmes, The Hurt Locker, Avatar, Fantastic Mr. Fox

Prediction: Up

I almost agree with this. Up really does have a great score, it fits the movie so well and you could probably hum it from memory right now if you tried. It has a very “light” feel to it which reminds you of ballons. How fitting. I won’t be upset when Up wins.

Who I’d like to win: Sherlock Holmes

There was some really incredible music in this movie that is very similar to the music in the third Pirates movie. (Same composer). Hans Zimmer is a genius. The music in this movie gave it its playful nature. I feel like if you watched it without the music it wouldn’t be nearly as good and I’m okay with that. The music makes this movie, but you can also listen to the music seperate from the movie and still really appreciate it. Gotta love Hans Zimmer.

Now for some Quickies:

I’d like Princess and the Frog “Almost There” to win best original song.

Visual Effects will certainly be Avatar.

I hope Up in the Air wins Best Screenplay.

Yes, so those are my thoughts. I don’t claim to be an expert on any of this and probably many of these predictions will b e wrong, but I enjoyed this exercise and I hope that you find it entertaining.

