So I think I’ve figured out a pretty cynical way of not wallowing in self-pity and being aware of the fact that the things that make you upset are not huge universal problems. For the longest time I thought that you had to constantly remind yourself that there are people in the world who are worse off than you. Hugry? There are starving people. Cold? Some people can’t afford to buy warm clothes. Upset? Some people have seen there whole family shot in front of them. That one was a little morbid, but you get the idea.

It turns out that the real way to humble yourself is to recognize that there are people out there who are going through EXACTLY the same thing you are. No worse. No better. You are not unique in your struggles and you are not unique in the things that bother you and upset you, but you are also not alone. I’m starting to take solace in the fact that there are other people around the world going through the same thing I am and they feel just like I do.  I am  not unique in my feelings and that’s nice. It’s less of a burden and it keeps you from making yourself into a martyr when you’re not alone in your thoughts and ideas.

My Thoughts Courtesy of Ms. Blair and Holden Caufield

