Re-watching my dvds of “Pushing Daisies” I was struck once again at how impecable the writing is. Bryan Fuller was the writer and creator of the series that lasted only two seasons. It is the best show ever made as far aBryan Fuller with "Ned" and "Chuck"s I’m concerned. The dialogue is clever and witty and it comes at you fast. In this particular post I’m going to talk about how amazing the writing is…but I’m sure more will follow about all the other aspects of the show.

Here are some of my favorite lines from the show:

Ned: I’m not a big fan of the hug,
Chuck: Then you haven’t been hugged properly. It’s like an emotional Heimlich. Someone puts their arms around you and they give you a squeeze and all your fear and anxiety come shooting out of your mouth in a big wet wad and you can breath again.

Narrator: The pie-maker considered how not telling Chuck the truth about her father was a lot like being locked in a prison. Then he considered how being locked in a prison was actually much worse than some silly metaphor about truth.

Ned: I know, deep down in my primal sweet spot, that I was being unselfish for selfish reasons.

Ned: Everything we do is a choice. Oatmeal or cereal. Highway or side streets. Kiss her or keep her. We make choices and we live with the consequences. If someone gets hurt along the way we ask for forgiveness. It’s the best anyone can do.

Chuck: What? You love secrets; you want to marry secrets and have little half-secret, half-human babies.

Emerson: Some women love like gangstas. They be like “Ooh baby, you bleedin’! How dat happen?” While dey hidin’ the razor in their weave.

Vivian: It used to make you so happy the water. I think it’s brave to try to be happy. You’ve gotten so comfortable being unhappy. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to wake up in the morning and choose to be happy, to let the water wash everything away?

Emerson: The truth ain’t like puppies, a bunch of them running around, you pick your favorite. One truth and it has come a knockin’.

Chuck: But why, why do we love something if loving something just makes us stupid and just have more to lose?
Ned: Why love something? Because we can.

Alfredo: If I loved you… Then I would love you in any way I could, and if we could not touch, then I would draw strength from your beauty… And if I went blind, I would fill my soul with the sound of your voice and the contents of your thoughts until the last spark of my love for you lit the shabby darkness of my dying mind…

