Tags

,

Let me preface this by saying, it’s late and my mind is beginning to wander. Bare with me as a I ramble about blogging for a bit, or hit your back button…it’s gonna be a bumpy ride.

A man who writes “Stories” on his typewriter, on The High Line in NYC. That’s just what we want right? A story.

Why do we blog? I found myself asking this question earlier today. I wonder why I do it, and I’m astounded to find new blogs literally every day when I go through my “WordPress Reader” to find interesting and engaging things to learn about.

Taking a look at everyone’s “about” pages there is a theme that rises to the surface. As far as I can tell, most people are blogging to keep a record. To keep a record of their lives, their thoughts and their fears and to have those recognized by someone…anyone who is out there.

Not too long ago I was nominated for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” on my other site The Penniless Traveler. While I was incredibly flattered that someone considered me to be an inspiring blogger, what really struck me about the award is that it was given from within the blogging community. This award, and others like it, are ways for us to recognize one another. To say, we know you’re out there, we care what you have to say, and you are a part of this community.

Blogging is really neat because it is a kind of community that reaches to the edges of the earth and allows us to preserve our lives and our histories in a place where we can share them. And ultimately isn’t that what we all want? Someone to be a witness to our lives, someone to understand us more authentically and a place to prove that we are here, right now, living our lives to the fullest.

